The Board

Board Members

Russell Higgins AO

Non-executive Chairman - Non-independent BEc, FAICD

Russell was appointed to the Board as Chairman on 1 July 2018. He has been an independent Non-executive Director of Argo Investments Ltd (Argo) since 2011 and is also Chairman of the Argo Board (since 1 July 2018). He is also Chairman of Argo's wholly-owned subsidiary, Argo Service Company Pty Ltd (ASCO), which acts as AGLI's Manager.

He has an extensive background in the energy and infrastructure sectors, and in economic and fiscal policy, both locally and internationally. He is an experienced company director who has also held senior government positions.

Russell is also a Non-executive Director of APA Group and was previously a Non-executive Director of Telstra Corporation Ltd, Ricegrowers Ltd and Leighton Holdings Ltd.

Joycelyn Morton

Non-executive Director (not independent) BEc, FCA, FCPA, FIPA, FGIA, FAICD

Joycelyn Morton has been a Director of the Company since it was incorporated in 2015. She is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee.

She has also been an independent, Non-executive director of Argo Investments Ltd since 2012.

Joycelyn has an extensive financial background with particular expertise in taxation matters. She enjoyed a long and successful executive career, initially in chartered accountancy, followed by senior management roles with Woolworths Limited and global leadership roles in Australia and internationally within the Shell Group of companies, including Vice President, Accounting Services, based in the Netherlands. She has also held a variety of government and international advisory positions and is a board member of the Business School Divisional Board of the University of Sydney.

Joycelyn’s other current board positions are with Beach Energy Ltd, Snowy Hydro Ltd and ASC Pty Ltd. She has valuable board experience across a range of industries, including previous roles as a Non-executive Director and Chair of Noni B Ltd and Thorn Group Ltd, and as a Non-executive Director of Invocare Ltd, Crane Group Ltd and Count Financial Ltd.

Gary Simon

Non-executive Director (independent) MComm, ACA, FAICD

Gary Simon has been an independent Director of the Company since 2015. He is Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee.

He has extensive board and management experience in funds management, banking and corporate treasury. He also has specific experience in the infrastructure sector.

Gary was previously Head of Investments Group at ABN AMRO Australia with responsibility for the bank’s equity investments in infrastructure assets and boutique financial services entities. He has previously been Chairman of the ABN AMRO Social Infrastructure Trust, a member of the trust’s Investment Committee, and a member of the ABN AMRO Australia Investment Committee. Gary has also been a director of various infrastructure assets, including Connector Motorways Group Ltd and Cross City Tunnel Ltd.

Gary is currently a Senior Consultant with Aquasia Pty Ltd and has advised a variety of clients including Federal and State Governments, private equity and not for profit sectors.

Andrea Slattery

Non-executive Director (independent) BAcc, MComm, CPA, CPA-FPS, SSA, FAICD

Andrea Slattery has been a Director of the Company since 2015. She is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee.

She has worked in the Australian financial services industry for over 25 years and has played a key role in the growth and recognition of the self-managed superannuation fund (SMSF) sector, including as a co-founder and former Managing Director and CEO of the SMSF Association. Her work has involved advising the highest levels of Federal Government and Opposition, regulators and other industry stakeholders. She was awarded 'Woman of the year' in the Australian Women in Financial Services Awards 2014: Money Management - Super Review.

Andrea is also a Director of the South Australian Cricket Association, the Adelaide Oval Stadium Management Authority Ltd. (alternate), the SMSF Association and Clean Energy Finance Corporation Ltd. She also has board experience with various foundations and not for profit organisations.

Jason Beddow

Managing Director (not independent) BEng, GdipAppFin(SecInst)

Jason Beddow has been Managing Director of the Company since it was incorporated in 2015.

He is also Managing Director of Argo Investments Ltd. He has over 20 years’ experience in the investment industry, including 18 years with Argo.

After completing an engineering degree whilst working in the mining industry, Jason became a research analyst in the resources sector with Hartley Poynton and Deutsche Bank. He then moved to funds management in 2001 when he joined Argo as an investment analyst. He was appointed Chief Investment Officer of Argo in 2008, Chief Executive Officer in 2010 and Managing Director in 2014.

Jason is also a member of the investment committees of Charles Sturt University and Royal Far West (a non-government organisation providing health services to children living in rural and remote NSW).