The Board

Board Members

Ian Martin AM

Chairman and Non-executive Director (not independent) BEc (Hons), FAICD

Ian Martin has been Chairman of the Board of Directors since the Company was incorporated in 2015.

He has also been an independent, Non-executive Director of Argo Investments Limited since 2004 and has been Chairman of the Argo Board since 2012.

Ian has over 30 years of experience in economics, investment management, superannuation, investment banking and financial services, including roles in many different facets of the Australian and international financial sectors.

He is a former Chief Executive Officer of the BT Financial Group, and a former Global Head of Investment Management and member of the Management Committee of Bankers Trust Corporation. He was a director of Bankers Trust Australia Ltd. and various companies affiliated with the BT Financial Group. In addition, he has previously been a non-executive director of GPT Group and Babcock & Brown Limited.

Earlier in his career, Ian worked at the Australian Treasury for eight years as an economic policy adviser before spending two years as Chief Economist of Citigroup in Australia. He was the inaugural Chairman of the Investment and Financial Services Association and was a Panel Member of the Australian Superannuation System Review (Cooper Review).

He holds an Honours degree in Economics from the University of Adelaide, an Advanced Diploma from the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has completed senior executive programs in investment management at London Business School and AIMR/Princeton University.

Ian is also a member of the board of UniSuper, and he is Vice Chairman, Asia Pacific, of Berkshire Capital. In addition, he has been Chairman of the Wayside Chapel Foundation since 2006 and has worked with a number of other charitable organisations.

Joycelyn Morton

Non-executive Director (not independent) BEc, FCA, FCPA, FIPA, FCIS, FAICD

Joycelyn Morton has been a Director of the Company since it was incorporated in 2015. She is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee.

She has also been an independent, non-executive director of Argo Investments Limited since 2012.

Joycelyn has an extensive financial background with particular expertise in taxation matters. She enjoyed a long and successful executive career, initially in chartered accountancy, followed by senior management roles with Woolworths Limited and global leadership roles in Australia and internationally within the Shell Group of companies, including Vice President, Accounting Services, based in the Netherlands. She has also held a variety of government and international advisory positions and is a board member of the Business School Divisional Board of the University of Sydney.

Joycelyn’s other current board positions are with Thorn Group Limited, Beach Energy Limited, Snowy Hydro Limited and ASC Pty Ltd. She has valuable board experience across a range of industries, including previous roles as a Non-executive Director and Chair of Noni B Limited, Non-executive Director of Crane Group Limited Non-executive Director of Count Financial Limited.

Joycelyn holds a Bachelor of Economics degree from the University of Sydney and has completed a senior executive program at INSEAD Business School.

Gary Simon

Non-executive Director (independent) MComm, ACA, FAICD

Gary Simon has been a Director of the Company since 2015. He is Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee.

He has extensive board and management experience in funds management, banking and corporate treasury. He also has specific experience in the infrastructure sector.

Gary was previously Head of Investments Group at ABN AMRO Australia with responsibility for the bank’s equity investments in infrastructure assets and boutique financial services entities. He has previously been Chairman of ABN AMRO Social Infrastructure Trust, a member of the trust’s Investment Committee, and a member of the ABN AMRO Australia Investment Committee. Gary has also been a director of various infrastructure assets, including Connector Motorways Group Limited and Cross City Tunnel Limited. 

He is also a former Chief Operating Officer of Challenger International and a former Group Treasurer of Australian National Industries. After starting his career in chartered accounting, he worked in treasury and banking roles at Commonwealth Industrial Gases, ANZ Banking Group and IBJ Australia Bank.

Gary is currently a Senior Consultant with Aquasia Pty Ltd and has advised a variety of clients including Federal Government, private equity and not for profit sectors.

Andrea Slattery

Non-executive Director (independent) BAcc, MComm, CPA, CPA-FPS, SSA, FAICD

Andrea Slattery has been a Director of the Company since 2015. She is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee.

She has worked in the Australian financial services industry for over 25 years and has played a key role in the growth and recognition of the self-managed superannuation fund (SMSF) sector, including as a co-founder and former Managing Director and CEO of the SMSF Association. Her work has involved advising the highest levels of Federal Government and Opposition, regulators and other industry stakeholders. She was awarded 'Woman of the year' in the Australian Women in Financial Services Awards 2014: Money Management - Super Review.

Andrea is also a Director of the South Australian Cricket Association, the Adelaide Oval Stadium Management Authority Ltd. (alternate), the SMSF Association and Adelaide University International Centre for Financial Services. She also has board experience with various foundations and not for profit organisations.

Jason Beddow

Managing Director (not independent) BEng, GdipAppFin(SecInst)

Jason Beddow has been Managing Director of the Company since it was incorporated in 2015.

He is also Managing Director of Argo Investments Limited. He has over 17 years’ experience in the investment industry, including 15 years with Argo.

After completing an engineering degree whilst working in the mining industry, Jason became a research analyst in the resources sector with Hartley Poynton and Deutsche Bank. He then moved to funds management in 2001 when he joined Argo as an investment analyst. He was appointed Chief Investment Officer of Argo in 2008, Chief Executive Officer in 2010 and Managing Director in 2014.

Jason is also a member of the investment committees of Charles Sturt University and Royal Far West (a non-government organisation providing health services to children living in rural and remote NSW).